Senior Sendoff: Nate Brooks

Nate Brooks

Forward. 6-6. 220. Chicago, Illinois.

What has been your favorite part of being a student at UChicago? And what about a part of UChicago’s men’s basketball team?

My favorite part of being at UChicago and also the basketball team, is the diversity of the people that I’ve had a chance to meet here.  I’ve had an opportunity to meet some amazing people and I’m happy to say that they’ve all contributed to my development in such a wonderful way.

What is your favorite on-court memory? What about off the court, with teammates, etc.?

My favorite on-court memory would have to be watching Jordan Smith hit a game winning three-pointer to beat WashU at their place. The WashU games are always intense, and that was such a great shot to finally beat them on their own court. As far as off the court, my favorite memory is the trip abroad to Australia and New Zealand with my teammates.

If you could change one thing about your time at UChicago, what would it be?

If I could change one thing about my time at UChicago, I would take more time to get to know the faculty and staff of the University.  I’ve connected with a few professors, but I do wish I would have spent more time developing more connections on campus.

Who did you enjoy playing against the most? (Team or individual player…)

The team I’ve enjoyed playing the most during my time here is NYU.  Their center, Costis Gontikas, has been a phenomenal player and a lot of fun to share some time on the court with.

What advice do you have for your freshmen teammates, moving forward?‎ And what has been the best advice you’ve received from the coaching staff, other teammates, etc.?

For the younger guys on the team, I would suggest that they really appreciate their time being able to represent UChicago on the basketball court.  Four seasons can pass by in the blink of an eye, so its important to cherish those moments with your teammates.

Any last words?

I would like to thank the family, friends and fans for all the love and support that they have provided to Maroon Athletics!

 

Leave a Reply

