Senior Sendoff: John Steinberg

John Steinberg

Guard. 6-4. 220. Bellevue, Washington.

What has been your favorite part of being a student at UChicago? And what about a part of UChicago’s men’s basketball team?

As a student, I have enjoyed being surrounded by educated individuals from around the world, who bring different perspectives to my learning experience. As a part of the basketball team, I have truly enjoyed developing life-long friends in the process of us all aiming for the same goal.

What is your favorite on-court memory? What about off the court, with teammates, etc.?

The best off the court memory I have would have to be the entire trip abroad; every day was full of some of my favorite things to look back on.

If you could change one thing about your time at UChicago, what would it be?

There really is not a lot I would change.

Who did you enjoy playing against the most? (Team or individual player…)

 I liked playing against Emory, because it was always a heated battle, resulting in a fun environment to play in.

What advice do you have for your freshmen teammates, moving forward? And what has been the best advice you’ve received from the coaching staff, other teammates, etc.?

 I would say just remember why you started this in the first place.  It’s easy to get lost in the woods, but if you remember your initial goals then you can find your way out.  I would say the best advice I have received from the program would be to “calm down.”

Any last words?

Thank you to everybody who contributed to my experience in this program and at this school. I know there are a lot of behind-the-scenes actions that that don’t get recognized by others, so I just want to thank every individual who did their part.

Leave a Reply

