Get To Know: Jordan Baum

Who? Jordan Baum. Guard. 6-3. 182. No. 24.

From? Deerfield, Illinois.

High school? Deerfield.

Studying? Economics.

“Jordan has a terrific feel for the game. He shoots well and is an excellent passer. He really sees the floor well. We are excited about his versatility.” -Coach Mike McGrath.

What sealed the deal on you coming to play basketball for UChicago?The biggest reason I chose UChicago over other schools was the complete dedication to academics while simultaneously remaining competitive year in and year out in athletics.”

What is your favorite thing about Hyde Park, so far?  “I love how there is such easy access to restaurants and stores in every direction, but at the same time Hyde Park has its own very unique vibe that is different from the downtown area.”

What NBA player(s) would you compare your game to?I don’t really know who my game would compare to, but a couple of guys have told me I play like D’Angelo Russell due to being a lefty and not being the most athletic guy on the court, but still finding ways to get things done.”

What is your favorite meal ever?My favorite meal ever is my mom’s chocolate chip pancakes because she isn’t the best cook in the world, so it makes her good meals taste that much better.”

Assemble a dream team starting five of current NBA players… 

PG: Steph Curry 

SG: Kawhi Leonard

SF: LeBron James

PF: Karl-Anthony Towns

C: Anthony Davis”

What did you want to be when you were growing up? “I wanted to be a lawyer, because I have always loved arguing with people and my mom used to tell me that if I was a lawyer I would get to do that every day for the rest of my life.”

What is the best piece of advice you’ve gotten from your teammates going into your first season?The best advice I’ve gotten is to make sure you take care of your work as efficiently as possible, because once the season starts the hardest thing to do is manage your time with everything going on.”

What television show could you binge watch forever? “Criminal Minds. I think I watched all 11 seasons on Netflix in under a month.”

What is your favorite sneaker of all time? “My favorite shoes ever would have to be Jordan Bred 11’s.”

Twitter, Instagram or Snapchat? “Snapchat.”

 

Leave a Reply

