Senior Sendoff: Waller Perez

We’ve got our last sendoff, on deck. Let us see what Waller Perez has learned over his four years at UChicago.

Waller Perez, No. 10, Forward

What has been the best part about being a member of the Maroons?
 
The best part of being a member of the University of Chicago men’s basketball team has been the relationships that I was fortunate enough to develop over the years. In addition, I enjoyed being able to visit the extraordinary locations we traveled to.
 
What about of being a UChicago student?
 
I enjoyed the intellectual discourse that I would have with my friends because I believe it has helped me grow as an individual. In addition, I was exposed to people from different parts of the world which I found to be one of my favorite parts of being a UChicago student.
 
Of all the time you’ve spent playing over the last four years, what is your favorite on-court memory?
 
There are many. However, one of my favorite on-court memories was when Jake Fenlon poster-dunked an opponent. In addition, I enjoyed beating WashU who was ranked No.1 in the country my sophomore year.
 
And how about when it comes to off-the-court, with teammates?
 
Off-the-court, I enjoyed traveling to Australia and New Zealand. That was my absolute favorite experience with my teammates.
 
Is there a certain matchup you’ve always looked forward to?
 
I have always looked forward to playing against WashU, Emory, and Carnegie. To me, they were the most physical teams we competed against.
 
What is the best piece of advice you’ve gotten, during your time as a Maroon?
 
I was once told by a mentor that work ethic always catches up to you. I have been a huge believer of that ever since.
 
What words of wisdom do you have for the teammates you’re leaving behind?
 
Always cherish your time as a UChicago Maroon, because time does go by faster than you think.
 
What will you miss most about UChicago, as a whole?
 
I will certainly miss being able to see my friends on the daily. I will also miss the Summer Breeze concerts that I have attended in the past years.
Looking back, is there anything you’d do differently here?
 
Nothing. My college experience was full of learning lessons and I would not exchange my experiences for other ones.
Leave a Reply

