Offseason Opportunities: Ryan Shearmire

No. 30, Ryan Shearmire, Investment Banking Analyst at Lazard

A senior from West Linn, Oregon, Ryan Shearmire is spending his offseason in Chicago.

“This summer, I’m working at Lazard as an Investment Banking Summer Analyst. My main responsibility is to assist the team with mergers and acquisitions transactions.

Last summer I worked in investment banking and I enjoyed my first taste of the business, so I knew I wanted to work in the industry again this time around. Throughout the recruitment process, I was impressed by the people I spoke with at Lazard and felt that this would be a good place for me to learn and grow, moving forward.”

So what has been the forward’s favorite part of this opportunity so far?

“I’ve really enjoyed the everyday challenge that the position itself entails… however, my favorite part of the job is learning every day from the Lazard team. I have an enormous amount to soak in, but I feel that I’ve started off on the right foot with the help of my co-workers taking an interest in my development.”

And how does Shearmire think his time at UChicago has helped him prepare for the role?

“Being a student-athlete at UChicago has given me vital skills in time management and discipline, as well as continuing to learn to put the team and your teammates above yourself. In addition, the overall environment of being around the people at the university, has been crucial in broadening my world view, and I have learned so much from my fellow students and teammates.”

The fourth year has also made preparing for the 2017-18 season a priority this summer.

“My teammates and I have made it a priority to continue to get better throughout the summer, so that we can hit the ground running when we get back to campus in the fall. We couldn’t be more excited about the upcoming season and people will see that our work during the offseason has paid huge dividends.”

Leave a Reply

