Offseason Opportunities: Jake Fenlon

No.14, Jake Fenlon, Investment Banking Summer Analyst at Credit Suisse

A senior from Rochester, New York, Jake Fenlon is making things happen back home this summer.

“This summer I’m working at Credit Suisse in New York, as an Investment Banking Summer Analyst in the Mergers & Acquisitions group. Here, we essentially help our clients either sell their business or buy another one. When it comes to my day-to-day work, this consists of financial modeling, putting together presentation materials for potential buyers of our clients’ businesses, and various other tasks that assist the M&A process.”

So how did the guard land at Credit Suisse?

“I spent my summers after freshman and sophomore years interning at different finance-related firms. My goal was to learn about different aspects of the industry and gain experience that would help qualify me for whatever it was that I wanted to pursue after college. Ultimately, I’ve decided on investment banking because I believe being an analyst at an investment bank is a great opportunity to both learn a lot, and build a solid foundational skill set out of undergrad. Over the last several weeks I’ve learned so much and thus far, my internship experience has confirmed that I do want to pursue this upon graduation.”

And what does he like best there?

“I love working hard and being challenged, which I think makes me a good fit for banking. I’m constantly learning new things on the job and very rarely get bored. It’s an exciting, fast-paced work place, and I’ve really enjoyed it so far.”
Fenlon certainly credits his time at UChicago for helping him gain such great opportunities.

“Investment banking is a pretty competitive industry to break into, as there are more qualified applicants than there are positions available… but attending a school like UChicago exponentially increases one’s chances of landing such an opportunity. Firms love recruiting undergrads at UChicago because they know that we have experienced a rigorous academic curriculum and we are comfortable being challenged. Being a student-athlete in particular, I am comfortable being constantly busy and having very little free time to myself, which is what the lifestyle is in this field.

At this point in my life, I could not be more thankful to my 17-year-old self for deciding to attend UChicago. It has contributed both directly and indirectly to many of the opportunities that I’ve been fortunate enough to take advantage of, over the last few years.”

The fourth-year is also making sure to stay in shape this summer.
“Although being an Investment Banking Summer Analyst has kept me extremely busy, I have also done my best to keep up with my strength and conditioning regiment. This includes focusing on both cardio and lifting. Additionally, I try to hoop a couple of times a week, to keep developing my skill-set on the court. The good news is, my internship actually ends six weeks before the start of fall quarter, so I’ll be able to completely zero-in on preparing for the upcoming season then.”
Leave a Reply

